Mosque Imam Husayn

The mosque of Imam Husayn also called sanctuary of Husayn ibn ‘Alī (Arabic: مقام الامام الحسين) is an important mosque in Iraq, one of the oldest mosques in the world and a place of pilgrimage for Shiite Muslims.

Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Montmartre

The plaster hill overlooking Paris in the north knew, in honor of Mars and Mercury, temples that still have some vestiges. Their names are one of the etymologies of the word Montmartre.
The second, Monte de los Mártires (Mons Martyrum), is due to Saint Denis, the first Christian apostle of the future capital, sent to Christianize this part of Gaul. He would have resided with his disciples in the plaster quarries. A very old opinion places in this place his martyrdom by decapitation.

Basilica of St. Mary – Cracovia

The Basilica of St. Mary or Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (in Polish, Kościół Wniebowzięcia Najświętszej Maryi Panny (Kościół Mariacki)) of Kraków, Poland, is an outstanding Gothic church, located in the Market Square, the old national capital.

The church was declared a basilica on March 9, 1970.

The Church of Peace of Swidnica

In 1648, the Treaty of Westphalia granted Lutheran Protestants in the Catholic areas of Silesia the right to build three churches: in Głogów (Glogau), in Jawor (Jauer) and Świdnica (Schweidnitz). The condition was that they were built of wood and without nails, and that they were located outside the confines of the cities. Construction time was also limited to one year. Of these three, two are conserved, after the fire that destroyed the church of Peace of Głogów in 1758. After its restoration in German-Polish cooperation, the churches of the Peace of Jawor and Świdnica were inscribed in the list of the Patrimony of the Humanity in 2001.

Duomo of Florence – Italy

The Metropolitan Cathedral Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore, or Cathedral of Santa Maria de la Flor is the episcopal seat (in Italian duomo) of the Roman Catholic archdiocese of Florence, Italy. It is one of the masterpieces of Gothic art and the first Italian Renaissance.

Symbol of the wealth and power of the Tuscan capital during the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries, the Florentine cathedral is one of the largest buildings in Christendom. Its name refers to the lily, symbol of Florence, or the old name of the town called Fiorenza. But, on the other hand, a fifteenth-century document states that the «flower» refers to Christ.

Basilica Santa María del Mar – Barcelona, Spain

The Minor Basilica of Santa María del Mar is a Catalan Gothic church in Barcelona, ​​located in the Ribera district and built between 1329 and 1383. The master builders were Berenguer de Montagut (the main designer of the building) and Ramón Despuig. The initiative on the construction of the church had the canon Bernardo Llull.
Some current studies support the hypothesis that it was built on an ancient amphitheater or Roman arenas.

Papal Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore – Rome

The Papal Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore – in Italy, Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore, also known as Basilica of Santa Maria della Neve and Liberian Basilica – is a Roman Catholic basilica located in Rome. It is one of the four major basilicas and one of the five patriarchal basilicas associated with the Pentarquía: San Juan de Letrán, San Lorenzo Extramuros, San Pedro, San Pablo Extramuros and Santa María Maggiore.

Basilica of Saint Paul Outside the Walls – Rome

The Basilica of Saint Paul Outside the Walls is one of the four major Catholic basilicas – along with Saint Peter, Saint John of the Lateran and Saint Mary Major – and one of the five churches considered the oldest in Rome (the previous four and the basilica of San Lorenzo Outside the Walls). It is the second largest basilica in Rome, after San Pedro, which is 11 kilometers away. According to tradition it is the place where the apostle Paul was buried. In 2005, Cardinal Andrea Cordero Lanza di Montezemolo was named archpriest of the basilica. The basilica represents early Christian art.

Basilica of Saint John Lateran – Rome

The Archbasilica of the Savior and the saints John the Baptist and John the Evangelist, better known as the Archbasilica of St. John of Letran, is the cathedral of the diocese of Rome, where the episcopal see of the bishop of Rome (the pope) is located. It is dedicated to Christ the Savior, nevertheless it is more well-known with the name of San Juan, to be dedicated to the two main saints that take this name.

Cathedral of Chartres – France

The Cathedral of the Assumption of Our Lady (in French: Cathédrale de l’Assomption de Notre-Dame), is a cathedral church of Catholic cult under the invocation of Our Lady in the city of Chartres, in the department of Eure and Loir, in France, about 80 km southwest of the capital, Paris. It is also the seat of the Diocese of Chartres, in the Archdiocese of Tours.