Hagia Sophia – Istanbul

Holy Mother Sofia or Hagia Sophia (from the Greek: Άγια Σοφία, «Holy Wisdom» in Latin: Sancta Sophia or Sancta Sapientia, in Turkish: Ayasofya) is an old orthodox patriarchal basilica, later converted into a mosque and now a museum, in the City of Istanbul, Turkey.

Abbey Church of Sainte-Foy de Conques – France

La abbey church of Sainte-Foy de Conques is a church located in the French commune of Conques, in the department of Aveyron.

It is considered a masterpiece of Romanesque architecture in the south of France, being especially famous for its tympanum and for its treasure, which includes unique works of art dating from the Carolingian period. The interior is decorated with stained glass by Pierre Soulages. This abbey was founded by Abbot Dadon under the protection of Charlemagne.

Basilica of the Sagrada Familia

The Expiatory Temple of the Sagrada Familia (in Catalan Temple Expiatori of the Sagrada Família), known simply as the Sagrada Familia, is a Catholic basilica in Barcelona (Spain), designed by the architect Antoni Gaudí. Started in 1882, it is still under construction (September 2015). It is the masterpiece of Gaudí, and the greatest exponent of Catalan modernist architecture. According to data from 2011, it is the most visited monument in Spain, with 3.2 million visitors, followed by the Prado Museum (2.9 million) and the Alhambra in Granada (2.3).

St. Peter’s Basilica – Rome

The Papal Basilica of St. Peter (in Latin: Basilica Sancti Petri, in Italian: Basilica Papale di San Pietro in Vaticano), commonly known as St. Peter’s Basilica, is a Catholic temple located in the Vatican City.

St. Basle Cathedral – Moscow

The Cathedral of the Intercession of the Virgin next to the moat (Russian: Собор Покрова что на Рву), better known as St. Basil’s Cathedral, is an Orthodox temple located on the Red Square in the city of Moscow, Russia. It is famous worldwide for its bulbous domes. Despite what is popularly thought, the Cathedral of St. Basil is neither the seat of the Orthodox Patriarch of Moscow, nor the main cathedral of the Russian capital, since in both cases it is the Cathedral of Christ the Savior. As part of the Red Square, the St. Basil’s Cathedral was included since 1990, together with the Kremlin as a whole, on the Unesco World Heritage list.

Church of the Holy Sepulcher – Jerusalem

The Holy Sepulcher is a religious sanctuary of Christianity, located in the city of Jerusalem.

It is under the custody of various Christian confessions, including Catholics, Orthodox, Orthodox Armenians.

The place, also called Golgotha ​​(in Aramaic, Golgotha, «skull»), is the exact point where, according to the Gospels, there was the Crucifixion, burial and Resurrection of Christ. It is located within the Old City of Jerusalem, which in turn is located on the line of confluence between East Jerusalem (Arab) and Western (Jewish).

The Sistine Chapel – Vatican

The Sistine Chapel is the most famous chapel of the Apostolic Palace of the Vatican City, the official residence of the Pope. It is located to the right of the Basilica of San Pedro and originally served as a chapel of the Vatican fortress. Originally known as Cappella Magna, it takes its name from Pope Sixtus IV, who ordered its restoration between 1473 and 1481. Since then the chapel has served to celebrate various acts and papal ceremonies. It is currently the headquarters of the conclave, the meeting in which the cardinal electors of the College of Cardinals elect a new pope. The fame of the Sistine Chapel is mainly due to its fresco decoration, and especially to the vault and The Last Judgment, works of Michelangelo.

Angkor Wat – Cambodia

Angkor Wat (in Khmer Ângkôr Vôtt / ɑŋkɔr vɔt /), also sometimes written Angkor Vat, is the largest temple and also the best preserved of those that make up the settlement of Angkor. It is considered to be the largest religious structure ever built, and one of the most important archaeological treasures in the world.

Temples of India

Click here to access Panoramas

Mosque – Cathedral of Cordoba

The Mosque-cathedral of Córdoba, formerly «Santa María Madre de Dios» or «Great Mosque of Córdoba», currently known as the Cathedral of the Assumption of Our Lady in an ecclesiastical way, or simply Mezquita de Córdoba in general, is a building from the city of Córdoba, Spain.